Margy Stevenson (née Mathieson) and George Stevenson discuss Mathieson’s bakery and confectionery, which was established in 1872 by Margy’s great-grandfather. Mathieson’s, on Falkirk High Street, expanded across multiple premises to include a dance hall, dinners, and weddings. Learn about the history of the family, the characters that worked there, and the development of this much-loved local business where many people got married and which burned down at one point!Read story
James Bruce esq. of Kinnaird was an author, explorer and academic freemason (Dalivalle). In 1785, he commissioned the Bruce Obelisk, a free standing, cast iron memorial to his loved ones. It currently sits in the grounds of the Larbert Old Kirkyard. Local researchers Geoff Bailey and Duncan Comrie have investigated the obelisk in detail: Comrie in his unpublished article “Discovering James Bruce: A Falkirk Made Friend” (2020) and Bailey in “The Bruce Monument at Larbert” (Calatria Autumn 2013). This is an introduction, drawing on their work, to this ornate monument.Read story
Our collection of lockdown stories captures Falkirk's heritage in the making by exploring the extraordinary times we live in today. Staff at Easter Carmuirs Primary School left lovely picture messages for their pupils during lockdown. In the first video, you can see the messages, and all the support and rainbows that staff and pupils shared. In the second video, you can see the resonse video from pupils, each with their positive message to help get everyone through lockdown!Read story
Explore our Featured stories
Exploring the Carron Glen
Discover the history and wildlife of the Carron Glen Wildlife Reserve with the Falkirk rangers.
Muiravonside Country Park: Slavery and Alexander MacLeod
Muiravonside Country Park was once home to Alexander MacLeod, who owned slave plantations in the West Indies. This timeline offers an overview of his life within the wider context of key events in the history of industry and empire.
The Lost Distillery of Bankier
Delve into the history of one of the lost distilleries which one stood on the Forth and Clyde Canal and which exported whisky all over the world…